AEE Rocky Mountain Region

2020 Rocky Mountain Region Conference
April 2-4, 2020
Hosted by the Outdoor Program at Western New Mexico University
Silver City, NM

Theme: Inspiring Diverse Voices and Discovering Ourselves

Hearing and speaking make a complete whole, a cycle of community. Hearing diverse voices endows others with our recognition that their identity is essential to the earth, and hearing helps the listener grow and progress. Whether the voice we listen to is the voice of a young person, an old person, an indigenous resident or a European migrant, an animal speaking through its tracks and behavior or a plant speaking through its fractal growth, we can learn through listening to others and observing them closely. Experiential Education, as a discipline that connects behavior and reflection, is a means of inspiring diverse voices to speak and consequently discovering ourselves, our cultural and biological identities.

 THANK YOU TO OUR SPONSORS: Western New Mexico University & New Mexico Wilderness Alliance


Workshop Proposals

We are seeking quality workshop proposals from students, professional practitioners, college faculty, and others in the field of experiential education. Submit your abstract for a 60-minute student, 90-minute professional or four-hour Professional Development Intensives (PDIs) workshop

We welcome proposals for experiential presentations that focus on:  
  • Indigenous voices and practices in experiential education 
  • Helping diverse people experience outdoor programs 
  • Promoting environmental ethics—hearing the voices of animal and plant life 
  • Hearing diverse and indigenous voices as we face climate change 
  • Forming identities open to diverse voices and open to the value of the earth 
  • Activities that enable diverse voices 
  • Wilderness therapy in the Anthropocene 
  • Any other presentation or workshop that focuses on an aspect of the theme 


*Deadline: February 14, 2020



Registration Rates
Registration rate includes one lunch buffet on Friday!

*Please note: If you are a WNMU or Aldo Leopold HS Student, are a member of the Rocky Mountain Regional Host Team, or are part of a group of 5 or more from the same organization, please email [email protected] and [email protected] for your discount code!

2020 RATES: *Early bird cutoff is March 6 at Midnight

Student presenter $35
Student regular $65 *Early bird $50 
AEE member Presenter $100
Non-member presenter $125  
AEE member $150 *Early bird $125
Non-member $175 *Early bird $150  
AEE member exhibitor $125 (Includes 1 registration) *Early bird $100
Non-member exhibitor $150 *Early bird $125



Who should attend?

  • Adventure educators
  • Outdoor educators
  • Environmental educators
  • College faculty and staff
  • College and high school students
  • Experiential educators
  • Public, charter, and independent school educators
  • Expeditionary learning staff
  • Wilderness therapists
  • Those interested in making a difference

Some conference highlights:

  • 20-30 workshops, including student-led workshops and 4-6 hour professional development intensives.
  • Pre-conference workshops.
  • Keynote Speaker: José González, Founder and Director Emeritus, Latino Outdoors.
  • Research presentations and poster session, including student research.
  • Exhibits, career connections.
  • Very affordable registration rates!
  • Professional and social networking.
  • An inspiring setting! Area attractions include hiking in the Gila Wilderness, mountain biking, exploring ancient cliff dwellings.

How to get involved in the conference:

  • Register to Attend: If you’re an educator, have your students register too! Bring a friend/colleague. Early bird registration closes March 6, 2020.
  • Submit a proposal to present a conference or a pre-conference workshop. Deadline for proposals February 14, 2020.
  • Become a sponsor by donating a scholarship for a student to attend the conference, contributing items for the auction, sponsoring a keynote presentation.
  • Become an exhibitor; promote your program or product.
For more information, contact Kathy Whiteman, Ph.D., 2020 Conference Convener
Email: [email protected] Phone 575-538-6228.

The Rocky Mountain Region covers the following states and provinces:
Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming, Sonora and Sinaloa (Mexico)
We are a resource for AEE members, teachers, educators, camp directors, social workers and others to help promote experiential education in the Rocky Mountain Region. 
Interim Regional Chair: Kathy Whiteman, Ph.D.
Email: [email protected] Phone 575-538-6228.

Join the Rocky Mountain Region on Facebook!